better this way

Forgive me for wiping my tears off–

I could have been honest instead;

Forgive me for hiding my monsters,

For everything I never said,

For trusting the lies that they told me,

For doubting that we could be friends;

I’d ask you to stay, but all I can say

Is goodbye as it comes to an end

I wondered as I started walking away

If I owed you my trying again

But you probably owe me a final debate

So maybe it’s even this way

Forgive me for leaving regardless

I’ll message you one of these days

(As long as you promise you won’t turn me in

For breaking the rules that they made)

But maybe I won’t, and nobody knows

If either of us has a say

I’d ask you to stay, but all I can say

Is I doubt that I’ll see you again

But now that you’re gone and I’m walking away

I wish I had tried to be friends

So forgive me for keeping my secrets

I wish you the best in your life

And maybe I’ll miss you when I am alone

It always gets darker at night

Good luck in the future was all that I’d said

But now that I’ve left you behind

I wish I had told you I’d miss you instead

I wish I’d been more in your life

I’d ask you to stay, so we could be friends

But that was the final goodbye

I won’t see you again, so all I can pray

Is that somehow it’s better this way.


2 responses to “better this way”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started